Reviews

Parent Reviews

Brookwood Christian school is absolutely amazing. This is my daughters 2nd year. She came from Public school last year as a 6th grader when she was 12. Even with her IEP, she was still really struggling in public school. Not that there was anything wrong with the school she attended before but they just simply didn’t know how to teach her. She was diagnosed with a language barrier when she was in 3rd grade. School made her anxious and she was spending hours at night on homework. She had trouble concentrating, she was drowning in the work overload and getting discouraged with poor grades. We were recommended Brookwood by someone when I was looking into homeschooling and I’m so thankful to have found them. She still gets to go to school and have her friends. I’m not sure where we would be without this school. The teachers are great and they really make learning fun. She has learned and retained more since being at Brookwood than all the years she was in public school. They offer a safe and nurturing learning environment for children. It feels more like a big family. My daughter loves the small classroom sizes and hands on learning. She always looks forward to the farmers market in downtown Acworth or walking to the lake. For the first time she really enjoys going to school and to me that is priceless. My whole family is so very grateful that a school like Brookwood exists for those that learn and process information in different ways. This school is such a blessing!!

~AshCM, August 2018 on Great Non Profits


Brookwood Christian School is considered a language learning disability school. It has been my family’s experience that Brookwood is a language learning ABILITY school. Our son Blake was 8 when he started at Brookwood in September of last year. After attending public school for 4 years plus August of this past school year he still could barely recognize his own name and could read nothing. We were told by the school system he was mentally retarded and that he would never learn to read. They were going to place him in special education only classes where he would be allowed to pass from grade to grade until he aged out of the school and then would graduate with a special education diploma. He would be sent into adulthood unable to read or write. We found Brookwood and immediately contacted them. We knew immediately upon meeting with the Kim, that God had placed this school and its staff in our lives. In the 8 months that Blake was there last year he learned to begin reading. His test scores showed extreme progress. This school loves its children and has a true and genuine desire to see that each child is given the opportunity to grow to their full potential. As the parents of a child with with auditory processing disorder and several other special needs we were determined to give our son every opportunity we could for him to succeed. We are confident that Brookwood was the key that opened the door for our son to have everything he needs for success. Don’t let your child struggle another day, call Brookwood and let them help you.

~Shan Burnette, August 2018 on Great Non Profits


Brookwood has been nothing short of a blessing for our family! Our daughter has been thriving and comes home every day excited and happy to go to school!

~hayva123, August 2018 on Great Non Profits


Great staff and curriculum best fit for my ADD daughter with dyslexia.

~Mary Koslen, August 2018 on Great Non Profits


Brookwood Christian was the answer to many tears and prayers. Both of my girls have Learning Disabilities and the public school system was failing them. Within a short period after arriving at Brookwood, we began to see changes not only in success with learning, but in their behaviors as well. The tears and tantrums at homework time no longer exist. Each staff member at Brookwood is invested personally in the children. They provide a caring and compassionate atmosphere that allows children to learn on their level, without the added pressure of “performing” for standardized tests. I can’t imagine a better atmosphere for children to learn.

~Jan Murphy, November 2017 on Great Non Profits


Brookwood Christian School has been the greatest thing that has happened to my son. My son has Auditory Processing Disorder and was unable to learn to read in public schools. He has been at Brookwood Christian School for a month and a half and is already reading!! I could not be happier! It’s nice to see my son so proud of himself!!

~Julie Burnette, October 2017 on Great Non Profits


Top notch environment for my child with Autism who was struggling with being “odd or different” in the public school. Our 1st year, our experience from every teacher was as God commanded ‘to love thy neighbors as ourselves’. Daily devotionals instilled Christ’s love for us, regardless of our abilities or disabilities, while living in a broken world. Very happy with the education designed specifically for the exact level each child is at for each subject.

~Megan Harpine, July 2017 on Google Reviews


Our son made the decision on his own to transfer out of our public high school which he loved to attend Brookwood. This decision was very difficult but it was the only way he would be able to get his high school diploma with his learning disability. He was a year behind with his credits. Brookwood helped him to get caught up and receive his diploma in 2 years. Also, he nor us ever felt oppressed in our Faith. Aaron always freely shared his faith and if we ever had a question about curriculum, assignments or class discussions relating to matters of faith we did not hesitate to ask about it.

~Robert Strother, July 2017 on Google Reviews


My daughter was going to a school that specialized in learning disabilities. Her school was forced to close suddenly just 3 weeks before school started in the fall. We panicked looking for a place where our daughter could get the special care that we had come to expect. We interviewed at 8 different schools, all of which were more than eager to show us their awards and talk about their achievements. A mutual friend told us about Brookwood. When we arrived for our interview, rather than walking us past a trophy case and lauding the school’s achievements, Kim sat us down and said, “Tell me about your little girl.” That was in 2012, we have never had one minute of doubt that our daughter was receiving a top-notch education. Oh and my daughter, she’s entering college next spring, at 16.

~Bryon Finkel, July 2017 on Google Reviews


Brookwood Christian School was a perfect fit for my son. He has many learning challenges and traditional curriculum was a constant source of stress for him. Thank God we found Brookwood. The teachers were able teach my son the joy of learning at his level while challenging him to seek higher academic success.

~Danielle Anderson, July 2017 on Google Reviews


I am so thankful to BCS for everything they did for my son. He never would have graduated high school if he had been in public school. I looked into many different schools but they did not have the loving atmosphere I felt at BCS. Because of the small class sizes, individual attention to his specific learning needs, and the caring teachers not only did he graduate but he went on to a Jr College to play baseball and will be attending a Division 1 College in the fall on a baseball scholarship.

~Kristen Reed, July 2017 on Google Reviews


Our daughter adopted as a baby from Russia has Fetal Alcohol Syndrome and we tried every option we could to educate her. But, when it came to math, she was stuck. From private school to homeschool, nothing worked. She started Brookwood 3 years ago and today is learning math, but also social skills and has a much higher self esteem without feeling “different”! Her classmates grow together and build each other up with special directives and constant hands on work from their teachers. Now she understands it’s OK to be slower/different and she has things about her she excels in and can be proud of! She will be a 9th grader next year and that alone is a miracle! Brookwood was founded/directed by Kim and Kevin Wigington who are strong Christians, though very accepting of all students regardless of faith. They strive to instill Christian morals and values and meet the kids where they are…taking them to their full potential. The teachers at Brookwood are happy and personally supportive of each child’s successes inside/outside the classroom. This school has given our kids something that no other can. It offeres what they need, in a way they can learn grow from it!

~March 2015 at GreatSchools.org


Brookwood Christian Language School was the best thing we ever did for our daughter. We had our daughter tested for learning difficulty and found out she had Dyslexia. We were amazed that the public school never identified her specific learning disability and the public school didn’t have the resources to effectively help her. The school is like her family. They understand her challenges and work on building her self confidence and advancing her education. She loves school again. It was amazing. They use a special program that helps children learn to read. The class sizes are small and her learning is adapted to her needs. My husband and I are so glad we made the change. We only wish we had made is sooner. Our daughter is incredibly intelligent. She just needed the extra support and confidence to excel.

~February 2015 at GreatSchools.org